Leadership

Cathy Wu

Unidel Edward G. Jefferson Chair in Engineering and Computer Science
Director, Center for Bioinformatics & Computational Biology (CBCB)
Director, Data Science Institute (DSI)
Director, Protein Information Resource (PIR)
Professor, Computer & Information Sciences
Professor, Biological Sciences

wuc@udel.edu | 302-831-8869 | 147 BPI

Expertise: Biological Text Mining, Biological Ontology, Computational Systems Biology, Protein Structure-Function-Network Analysis, Bioinformatics Cyberinfrastructure

Shawn W. Polson

Director, CBCB Bioinformatics Core Facility
Director, Bioinformatics Network of Delaware (Delaware INBRE)
Associate Professor (CISC, PLSC, BISC)

polson@dbi.udel.edu | 302-831-3235 | 315 BPI

Expertise: Genomics, Transcriptomics, Metagenomics, Phylogenetics, Genomic Technologies, High Performance Computing, Bioinformatics Programming

Karen Hoober

Associate Director, Graduate Education & Outreach
Computer & Information Sciences Department
Center for Bioinformatics and Computational Biology

khoober@udel.edu | 302-831-6173 | 147 BPI

Faculty

Cecilia Arighi

Research Associate Professor

arighi@dbi.udel.edu | 302-831-3444 | DBI 205

Chuming Chen

Associate Professor

Computer & Information Sciences

chenc@udel.edu | 302-831-3426 | 147 DBI

Expertise: Data Management and Data Integration, Cloud Computing, Big Data Analytics, Deep Learning, Bioinformatics, Semantic Web and Ontology Engineering

Sheng-Chih Chen

Adjunct Assistant Professor

Computer & Information Sciences

scchen@udel.edu | 147 BPI

Hongzhan Huang

Associate Professor

Computer & Information Sciences

hhuang@udel.edu | 302-831-3445 | 147 BPI

Expertise: Proteomics, Pathway/Enrichment Analysis, Biostatistics

Scientists

Amelia Harrison

Bioinformatics Training Coordinator

aoh@udel.edu | 302-831- | BPI 359

Expertise: Microbial/Viral Community Analysis, Ecology, Phylogenetics, Metagenomics

Madolyn MacDonald

Associate Bioinformatics Scientist

mmacd@udel.edu | 302-831- | BPI 147

Expertise: Genome Annotation, Bioinformatics Programming, Biopharmaceutical, Adventitious Virus Detection

Karen Ross

Post Doctoral Researcher

keross@udel.edu | 302-831-0161 | 147 BPI

Jennifer Wyffels

Post Doctoral Researcher

wyffels@udel.edu | 302-831-3242 | DBI 205

Staff

Jaysheel Bhavsar

Bioinformatics Programmer
Adjunct Instructor

jaysheel@udel.edu | 302-831-6505 | DBI 205

Expertise: Bioinformatics Programming, Web Design, High Performance Computing, Transcriptomics, Metagenomics

Linda Chen

Bioinformatics Software and Database Engineer

yxchen@udel.edu | 302-831-3423 | 147 BPI

Julie Cowart

Bioinformatics Software Engineer

jcowart@udel.edu | 302-831-7373 | 147 BPI

Expertise: Software Engineering, Data Management, Web Development

Yuqi (Michael) Wang

Bioinformatics Programmer

yuqiwang@udel.edu | 302-831-3234 | 147 BPI

Qinghua Wang

Associate Scientist

wangq@udel.edu | 302-831-3331 | 147 BPI